Cross section of audience at CCIC Launch

The Caribbean Climate Innovation Center (CCIC) was launched on Monday 27 January 2014, at CARIRI’s Centre for Enterprise Development in Freeport, Trinidad. It was officially inaugurated by Jamaica’s Minister of Science, Technology, Energy and Mining, the Hon. Phillip Paulwell and Trinidad and Tobago’s Minister of Planning and Sustainable Development, Senator Dr the Hon.  Bhoendradatt Tewarie.

Other speakers/presenters included His Excellency Gérard Latulippe, High Commissioner for Canada to Trinidad and Tobago; Ms Valerie D’Costa, Program Manager of World Bank infoDev; Ms Sophie Sirtaine, Country Director for the Caribbean, World Bank; Mr Jonathan Cooney, Program Coordinator, Climate Technology Program; Mr Hawthorne Watson, Executive Director of the Scientific Research Council, Jamaica;  CARIRI Chief Executive Officer, Liaquat Ali Shah and CCIC Management Committee Members, Mr Ronald Dubrisingh and Ms Mona Whyte.  The Event was chaired by  Dr Ulric Trotz, Chair of the CCIC Management Committee.

The CCIC will have facilities in Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago, as well as satellite hubs in other Caribbean islands.  It will be part of a global network of eight Climate Innovation Centers located, among others, in Kenya, India, Vietnam and Ethiopia. 

 Please click here to view Official Press Release